Saturday, April 29, 2006

Newfoundlanders clean up at Atlantic Book Awards

Newfoundlanders did pretty well last night at the Atlantic Book Awards. Congratulations to Donna Morrissey who won both the Thomas Head Raddall Atlantic Fiction Prize (up against Lisa Moore's Alligator) and the Booksellers’ Choice Award (up against Michael Crummey's The Wreckage) for her novel Sylvanus Now.

Congratulations to Kevin Major who won the Ann Connor Brimer Children’s Literature Prize for Aunt Olga’s Christmas Postcards.

And congratulations to Breakwater Books and editor Ronald Rompkey who won the Best Atlantic Published Book Award for Reginald Shepherd and Helen Parson Shepherd: A Life Composed.

Other Newfoundlanders nominated were, as mentioned, Lisa Moore and Michael Crummey as well as Robin McGrath for her wonderful book of poetry Covenant of Salt which was nominated for the Atlantic Poetry Prize. Congratulations to them as well.


Post a Comment

<< Home